University of Arkansas

Walton College

The Sam M. Walton College of Business

Office of External Relations

The External Relations team serves our external and internal constituency (students, alumni, donors, friends, University and business communities, and public) through its three areas:

Development

The development staff is charged with raising funds to support enrollment growth and to meet strategic goals. They do so through individual giving, corporate and foundation giving, annual giving and sponsorships.

There are many ways large and small to stay involved and support the Walton College.

Contact the development staff to learn how you can support Walton as it strives to expand its impact, reputation and academic excellence.

Contact Information

John Erck
Senior Director of Development & External Relations
RCED 218
(479) 575-7688
jerck@uark.edu

Becca Shanklin
Associate Director of Development
RCED 220
(479) 575-5425
beccas@uark.edu

Derrick Riddle
Assistant Director of Development
RCED 217
(479) 575-3132
driddle@walton.uark.edu

Constituent Relations 

Constituent (donor) relations is not new. Saying thank you, recognizing donors on walls and in lists and telling donors how gifts have been used have been part of the development process for years.

However, in recent years with the demand for accountability and campaigns to fill the gap as other sources of revenue and state support are shrinking, these activities have been given an increased level of importance.

Contact Information:

Nancy Hart
Director of Constituent Relations
(479) 575-4563
RCED219
nhart@walton.uark.edu

Carolyn Eiler
Stewardship & Events Manager
RCED 222
(479) 575 -6153
ceiler@walton.uark.edu

Leslie Manthei
Public Relations Manager
RCED 225
(479) 575-6120
lmanthei@walton.uark.edu

Josh Harris
Administrative Specialist
RCED 217
(479) 575-6146
jharris@walton.uark.edu

Communications

The communications team works in tandem with other related offices and areas at the college and university level to support the College's strategic objectives; promote successes, events and gifts associated with students, faculty, staff, alumni, and friends; and advance the legacy of Sam M. Walton. We provide communications strategy and services to the College and its academic and administrative units.

Areas of expertise include media relations, public relations, social media strategies, web and print design, writing and editing for print and web, photography and integrating multiple channels of communication with various audiences.

Contact Information:

David Speer
Director of Communications
RCED 212
(479) 575-2539
dspeer@walton.uark.edu

Paula Lawrence
Assistant Director of Creative Services
RCED 215
(479) 575-8617
plawrence@walton.uark.edu

Lori McLemore
Marketing & Communications Officer
RCED 214
(479)575-5021
lmclemore@walton.uark.edu

Drew Stephens
Digital Design & Development Manager
RCED 211
(479) 575-4794
dstephens@walton.uark.edu

 

New & Noteworthy

Video Features Guiding Priorities Crafted Through Campuswide Collaboration

Video Features Guiding Priorities Crafted Through Campuswide Collaboration

The campus community worked together this past year to develop eight guiding priorities to make this an even better institution.

Read more

McMillon Gift to Fund Retail Innovation and Technology Lab

McMillon Gift to Fund Retail Innovation and Technology Lab

A former retail space in the Harmon Parking Facility on the University of Arkansas campus will be transformed into a retail innovation and technology lab through the generosity of Walmart Chief Executive Officer and Sam M. Walton College of Business alumnus Doug McMillon.

Read more

Fletchers Fuel Entrepreneurial Spirit With Creation of S.A.K.E. Fund

Fletchers Fuel Entrepreneurial Spirit With Creation of S.A.K.E. Fund

Alumnus Frank Fletcher and his wife, Judy, are providing $600,000 to establish the Frank and Judy Fletcher S.A.K.E. Fund in the Sam M. Walton College of Business.

Read more