University of Arkansas

Walton College

The Sam M. Walton College of Business

Information Technology Research Institute to Recognize 26 High School Women for Computing Achievements and Aspirations

image description of the featured image goes here
March 26, 2019

Share this via:

To encourage young women to choose technology careers, the National Center for Women & Information Technology and the Information Technology Research Institute at the University of Arkansas will recognize 26 high-school women from Arkansas for their accomplishments, aspirations and interest in computing and technology at the 9th Aspirations in Computing Award dinner on Tuesday, April 9, as part of the 2019 Women in Information Technology Conference held on campus.

“This is a great program that encourages young talented women to purse a career in the field of technology, a field that is under represented by females and minorities,” said Eric T. Bradford, managing director of the Information Technology Research Institute.

The Aspirations in Computing is a program of the National Center for Women & Information Technology, a coalition of over 650 universities, corporations and organizations dedicated to increasing the meaningful participation of women in computing. The NCWIT Award for Aspirations in Computing was created to acknowledge the computing aspirations of young women, introduce them to leadership opportunities in the field, and generate visibility for women’s participation in computing-related pursuits. 

Award-winners have been selected for their outstanding aptitude and interest in computing and desire to pursue computing-related studies of occupations. The NCWIT Aspirations in Computing program is supported by lifetime sponsor Apple and national sponsors AT&T, Bank of America, Bloomberg, Google, HP Enterprise, Intel, Qualcomm and Microsoft with additional support from Motorola Solutions Foundation, Northrop Grumman and Symantec.

This years’ recipients from Arkansas are:

National Honorable Mentions & Arkansas Affiliate Winners

  • Natalie Friede – The New School 

  • Indu Sen – Springdale High School 

Arkansas Affiliate Winners

  • Alejandra Barroso – Springdale High School 

  • Jasmine Black – Springdale High School 

  • Alejandra Gallegos – Springdale High School 

  • Abbie Johnson – Bryant High School 

  • Zoie Keys – Lake Hamilton High School 

  • Cassidy Khounborine – Springdale High School 

  • Drue Krauss – Pocahotas High School 

  • Arthi Krishna – Bentonville High School 

  • Christine Muoghalu – Lake Hamilton High School 

  • Tina Nguyen – Springdale High School 

  • Haley O’Donnell – Riverview High School 

  • Alice Olivares – Springdale High School 

  • Faith Pearrow – Bentonville High School 

  • Alekhya Pidugu – Central High School (Little Rock, AR) 

  • Samantha Quintero – Springdale High School 

  • Hetvi Shah – Central High School (Little Rock, AR) 

Arkansas Affiliate Honorable Mentions

  • Madison Betz – Bryant High School 

  • Jenna Drake – Southside High School 

  • Brianna Lewis – Bryant High School 

  • Sarah Overcast – Arkansas School for Mathematics, Science, and the Arts 

  • Brooke Riley – Cabot High School 

  • Adrienne Robinson – Conway High West 

  • Samantha Smiley – West Fork High School 

  • Kaylie Tipton – Arkansas High School  

Arkansas Affiliate Educator Awards

  • Karma Turner – Lake Hamilton High School — Winner 

  • Kayla Britton – Cabot High School — Honorable Mention

Walton College

Walton College of Business

Since its founding at the University of Arkansas in 1926, the Sam M. Walton College of Business has grown to become the state's premier college of business – as well as a nationally competitive business school. Learn more...

Recent Posts