University of Arkansas

Walton College

The Sam M. Walton College of Business

Presenter of the Year Competition

Our annual Presenter of the Year competition has been postponed for Fall 2022 due to a variety of factors. We look forward to holding the event in future semesters.

This speech contest is among our favorite events of the year for one reason: it is a showcase for our students. Come to this event’s finale if you want to be impressed by your peers. Participate in this event if you want to impress your peers – and be in the running to win some nice prizes.

Participants in the competition - all of whom are nominated by their classmates - will be expected to deliver an informative (rather than persuasive) speech; mastering this style of speeches is important since speaking to inform is one of the most common forms on-the-job communication.  

Participants must be Walton College of Business (WCOB) first-year students who are also currently enrolled in a Public Speaking course (COMM 1313) or a Honors Business Communication (WCOB 210VH). Contestants will give a five to seven-minute informative speech that informs the audience.

The winners of the 2021 competition are:

  • Avery Alford (first place)
  • Luke Lyster (second place)
  • Syndey Foster (third place)

Alford,  Lyster, and Foster were joined in the final round by Billy Ray Donovan, Hope Shumake, and Hayden Swope.

For  more information about  the event, please contact us directly at